Go to top of page

4 - Portfolio overviews

There are currently 16 Commonwealth portfolios. Within these portfolios there are 194 entities, including departments, agencies, authorities and companies, that are governed under either the Financial Management and Accountability Act 1997, and known as FMA Act agencies, or the Commonwealth Authorities and Companies Act 1997, and known as CAC Act agencies.

Each section in this chapter contains a high level overview of each of the portfolios.

Amounts in the tables in the following sections represent data from the 2013-14 Budget updated for machinery of government changes. The data are estimates only, as this information is generally only officially updated by agencies at Budget time. As individual entity resourcing includes inter-agency transfers and payments, total resourcing for portfolios may be overstated in some instances.

The diagrammatic representation of each portfolio presented in the sub-sections below (for example Chart 4.1.1) show each entity’s primary purpose (policy, operational, regulatory or specialist), its relative size, and whether the staff it employs are engaged under the Public Service Act 1999 or another piece of legislation. These diagrams are more comprehensive than the accompanying tables, as they show all FMA Act and CAC Act bodies in a portfolio and not just those entities that are directly appropriated or funded by the Commonwealth.