National Commission of Audit

The National Commission of Audit was announced by the Treasurer, the Hon Joe Hockey MP, and the Minister for Finance, Senator the Hon Mathias Cormann, on 22 October 2013.

The Commission was established by the Australian Government as an independent body to review and report on the performance, functions and roles of the Commonwealth government.

The Commission’s Phase One Report was due to the Prime Minister, Treasurer, and the Minister for Finance by 14 February 2014. The Phase Two Report was due by the end of March 2014.

The full terms of reference for the Commission are attached.

About Requests for Information

The National Commission of Audit ceased on 31 March 2014. Queries should be directed to the Department of Finance.

Public Submissions

The National Commission of Audit called for public submissions in the week of 4 November 2013 via advertisements in national, metropolitan and regional newspapers and this web site. Public submissions closed on 26 November 2013. In making a submission, organisations and individual members of the public were asked to agree to terms and conditions by way of a completed cover sheet.